fbpx Skip to main content

A joint statement on the creation of an SBC Sexual Abuse Hotline:

Since the release of the Guidepost report on Sunday, the SBC Executive Committee, Guidepost Solutions, and members of the Sexual Abuse Task Force have been fielding calls from survivors regarding allegations of sexual abuse. Today, the SBC Executive Committee entered into an agreement for Guidepost to maintain a hotline for survivors or their proxies to submit allegations of abuse within the SBC. All submitters will remain confidential. Survivors will be notified of the available options for care and will be put in touch with an advocate.

While Guidepost will not be inquiring into the allegations at this time, they will hold the information confidentially. The Sexual Abuse Task Force will be assisting the SBC Executive Committee and the Convention in establishing processes for proper inquiries, and this hotline will serve as a resource to survivors and entities in responding properly while we work to put more permanent procedures in place. This hotline will be an important stopgap measure for survivors between now and the 2022 SBC Annual Meeting in Anaheim, when the messengers can pass even more meaningful reforms.

The hotline can be reached at 202-864-5578 or SBChotline@nullguidepostsolutions.com.

Willie McLaurin, interim president/CEO, SBC Executive Committee

Julie Myers Wood, Guidepost Solutions

SBC Sexual Abuse Task Force

  • Bruce Frank, lead pastor, Biltmore Baptist Church, Arden, N.C.
  • Marshall Blalock, pastor, First Baptist Church, Charleston, S.C.
  • John Damon, chief executive officer, Canopy Children’s Solutions, Jackson, Miss.
  • Liz Evan, judicial law clerk, Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Heather Evans, director, Evans Counseling Services, Coopersburg, Pa.
  • Andrew Hébert, lead pastor, Paramount Baptist Church, Amarillo, Texas.
  • Bucas Sterling III, senior pastor, Kettering Baptist Church, Upper Marlboro, Md.
  • Rachael Denhollander, task force advisor
  • Chris Moles, task force advisor