Southern Baptist Convention

The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (SWBTS) exists to equip God-called men and women for a lifetime of ministry that fulfills the Great Commission and glorifies God. Southwestern Seminary was chartered March 14, 1908, in Waco, Texas, and moved to its current location on Seminary Hill in Fort Worth in 1910. From its inception, Southwestern Seminary has sought to combine the highest standards of research and scholarship with vigorous training in the practical areas of ministry, including evangelism and missions, preaching and pastoral ministry, and worship and educational ministries. The more than 46,000 graduates of Southwestern Seminary serve in numerous and varied ministries across the Southern Baptist Convention and its churches, as well as on mission fields around the world.

The seminary has had nine presidents, beginning with B.H. Carroll. Adam W. Greenway was elected as the ninth president of The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary on February 27, 2019.