Southern Baptist Convention

The mission of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary is to equip leaders to fulfill the Great Commission and the Great Commandments through the local church and its ministries.

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary was founded in 1917 by an act of the Southern Baptist Convention at their annual meeting that year in New Orleans. Originally named "Baptist Bible Institute," New Orleans Seminary was the first theological institution to be created by direct action of the Southern Baptist Convention. It was originally created as an undergraduate institution modeled after Moody Bible Institute. Gradually, the school began to move toward graduate level training, and in 1946 the Convention renamed the institution "New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary."

The 2020 New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary Ministry Report is the compilation of NOBTS’s response to questions, and related reports, and is presented in five separate groupings. These groupings are: President’s letter, Ministry Inquiries, Ministry Goals and Accomplishments, Seminary Formula and ATS Report. A seminary formula, based upon FTEs (a seminary enrollment equation), is used to determine the portion that NOBTS receives from the 22.16% of the 2019/2020 Cooperative Program Budget (National CP Dollars) allocated to six Southern Baptist seminaries.