Southern Baptist Convention

One of the largest seminaries in the world, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary equips men and women with a strong theological foundation to fulfill God’s calling on their lives. Rooted in Scripture and branching out to fulfill the Great Commission, Southwestern’s motto is “Preach the Word, Reach the World.”

Southwestern Seminary has trained and commissioned more than 42,000 graduates to serve in local churches and mission fields around the world. In 1908, B.H. Carroll established the seminary on the campus of Baylor University, and Southwestern moved to its current location on Seminary Hill in Fort Worth in 1910. Paige Patterson was elected as the eighth president of the seminary in 2003.

The 2019 Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Ministry Report is the compilation of SWBTS’s response to questions, and related reports, and is presented in five separate groupings. These groupings are: President’s letter, Ministry Inquiries, Ministry Goals and Accomplishments, Seminary Formula and ATS Report. A seminary formula, based upon FTEs (a seminary enrollment equation), is used to determine the portion that SWBTS receives from the 22.16% of the 2018/2019 Cooperative Program Budget (National CP Dollars) allocated to six Southern Baptist seminaries. Also, we are including a Mid-Year Ministry Update which will be posted in July of 2019.